New To Advertising
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New to TV
Watching television is now more engaging and rewarding than ever before.
Viewers have never had it so good in terms of choice and control. Long gone are the days of gathering round the only TV set in the home to all watch the same programme, at the time the broadcaster has decided to show it. Today's viewer can choose what time to start watching a movie premiere in high definition; catch up on an episode of a drama on their PC or download it to a portable device like a PSP and watch it on the move. They can ‘shift' their favourite programmes to a time that suits them via their Sky+ box; watch the news on their mobile phone or even go ‘behind-the-screen' by pressing the red button to access unseen footage from their favourite shows.
As an advertiser, all these platforms are at your disposal to communicate your messages to both existing and potential customers. The mainstay of TV advertising is still the 30" ad and we can help you every step of the way. You may have thought the TV advertising is complicated and just for those with deep pockets but that is not so. For those with a smaller or test budgets, we can simplify the process and ensure that real value is being delivered.
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Please continue to explore this section, our channels and opportunities. We hope the other pages in this section will help you understand advertising on TV a little better and encourage you to get in contact so we can talk some more.
New to Online
What terms do I need to know to get started?
As with most industries unless you work in it there seems to be so much jargon banded about it can sometimes sound like a foreign language. You can find a full list of online advertising terminology on the Internet Advertising Bureau's website (link listed opposite), but we've listed the main ones right here to get you started:
Page Impression is how the online industry measures how many times an individual page of a site has been viewed. One page impression is measured when a page has loaded and therefore been viewed by a user.
Ad Impression stands for ‘advertising impression' and is how the online industry measures how many times an advert has been viewed. It is important to remember that there is often more than one advertisement on a website's page.
Unique User refers to one individual visiting a site and enables us to see how many people are using a site. One ‘unique user' may view several pages within a site.
Advertising Metrics:
CPM stands for cost per thousand. The ‘thousand' refers to the amount you pay per 1000 advertising impressions.
CPC* (cost per click) is based on the number of clicks on an advert i.e. you pay every time someone clicks on your advert.
CPA/CPL* (cost per acquisition/lead) occurs when the advertiser only pays for an advert when it leads to the completion of a confirmed sale, or registration etc.
CTR (click-through rate) is usually stated as a % . This % is derived by dividing the number of times users clicked on an advert by the total amount of ad impressions an advert received.
* Please note Sky Digital Media predominately deal in CPM.
What formats can I buy online?
There are four main standard formats you can buy online and these are standardised across the industry. All of these are given universal names and sizes (which are detailed in pixels). In addition you can also run video adverts online.
The main formats are detailed below, but we know it will help you a lot if you can actually see these in situ therefore we've put together some screengrabs for you showing these main formats - you can download this from the link opposite!
Banner - 468 x 60
A long, horizontal advert which runs across the top of a page in a fixed placement.
Leaderboard - 728 x 90
A larger version of a banner taking up more room across the top of the page.
MPU (Mid Page Unit) - 300 x 250
A rectangular box generally to the right hand, middle side of the page.
Skyscraper - 120 x 600
A narrow, tall advert which runs on the right hand side of the page in a fixed placement.
Pre-Rolls
A commercial which runs ahead of video content usually 10-20 seconds in length.
In addition to the above there are a number of bespoke formats which Sky Digital Media offer. If you're interested in any of these please take a look at our advertising opportunities section where you'll find more details on the bespoke formats we have available.
How is online traded?
We charge on a CPM basis (cost per thousand ad impressions) at Sky Digital Media, but before we can quote this we need to know a little bit of information; what advertising format you would like to run, which of our sites you would like to run across, when you would like to run your campaign, and how much money you have to spend.
The CPM you will quoted will depend on the level of investment and the flexibility of the campaign. For example, if you were to book a campaign to run across a specific site such as Skysports.com the CPM would be higher than running across the entire network of our sites.
In order to work out the number of impression you would get for a specific budget please use the equation below:
Gross Budget / CPM x 1000 = number of ad impressions you can buy
For example if you had a total budget of £10,000 and were offered a CPM of £15 to buy an MPU format, the equation would work out as follows:
10,000 / 15 x 1000 = 666,666 MPU impressions
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What targeting is available online?
Online is a perfect environment for being able to target your campaign in the ideal way for your product in order to maximise effectiveness. It allows for more precise targeting, resulting in better attention from consumers and equating to better exposure for brand building, higher click-through rates and ultimately increased return on investment (ROI). Some of the main types of targeting available online are detailed below:
Demographic targeting: targeting audiences based on key traits e.g. age, sex, salary, socioeconomic class and marital status.
Contextual targeting: placement of ads next to related content. For example Nike football boots advertising in the football section of Sky Sports.
Geographic targeting: targeting specific locations and regions. This is extremely useful if, for example, you're a shop who only sells in the north of the UK.
Behavioural targeting: targeting individuals based on their past behaviour online. For example, serving a car advert to a user who has viewed at least 3 pages, during the last week, which contain information on cars.
New to Online Video Marketing?
Did you know that 82%* of the UK's online population now actively seek video content online on a monthly basis so consuming video content online is already a mass medium with as many as 35 million people using this as a regular means of entertainment.
2009 saw huge levels of growth both in the choice of content being offered, the number of media owners seeking to be in this space and the number of people viewing online. This in turn represents endless possibilities for marketers to have a more engaging dialogue with their customers.
If you are new to the Online Video Marketing world, then the Internet Advertising Bureau's (IAB) website is a very useful resource for you where you can find the following guides:
- Video statistics and definitions
- Getting started
- Video with other media
- Video five step guide
- Planning and setting objectives
- Video ad guidelines
- Creativity and execution
- Filming an online video advert
- Buying and delivery
- Targeting video ads
- Measuring success
- Case studies
Please click on the link on the right-hand side to go to the site directly or choose to find out more about the opportunities available to you within Sky.
New to Mobile Marketing?
Did you know that 30% of people in the UK already use mobile internet services* and that 56% of those users access the mobile web at least once a week**.
Mobile is a mass market medium which can deliver fantastic return on investment for your brand. As the UK's largest commercial sports & news publisher in mobile**, Sky brings advertising opportunities across some of the most innovative mobile websites and applications in the market. Delivering a young, affluent audience and offering compelling opportunities from easy data capture, to video, to application downloads, mobile has numerous possibilities for new and established advertisers alike.
If you are new to mobile, then a very useful resource for you can be found on the Internet Advertising Bureau's (IAB) website. Their Mobile Advertising Handbook takes you through everything you need to know about mobile and covers the following topics:
- Benefits of mobile
- The mobile consumer
- UK mobile advertising market
- Understanding the mobile user experience
- Integration with other media
- Briefing a mobile campaign
- Planning and implementing
- Mobile creativity
- Evaluation and measurement
- The future of mobile
Please click on the link on the right-hand side to go to the site directly, or choose to find out more about the opportunities available to you within Sky and how to contact us directly.
*Source: Mobile Data Association Feb '09
**Source: comScore m:metrics Nov 09

